denis-orourke-2014Denis O’Rourke (Chairman)

Currently a member of parliament (as from 2011), Denis represented the Hagley Ward of the Christchurch City Council from 1990 to 2004. He has chaired and sat on a number of council committees and boards, mainly involved in the provision of infrastructure for transport, water supply and waste services. Denis is a lawyer by training and was a member of the Central Plains Water Enhancement Steering Committee.



Doug Catherwood

Doug’s family has farmed sheep in the Malvern area since the early 1950s. From the start of his farming career in the early 1970s, he has been involved in a wide range of groups and organisations on the Central Plains, dealing with various rural community and agricultural issues. Doug started irrigating his Hororata property from a 100 metre deep well in 2002. He was a member of the Central Plains Water Enhancement Steering Committee.



Richard Davison

Dick farmed an irrigated property near Culverden in North Canterbury, involved with the Amuri Plains Irrigation Scheme since its inception in the 1970s. A registered valuer, Dick has been a director of Landcorp, Ravensdown & AgResearch; chairman of Hurunui-Kaikoura Primary Health Organisation and Amuri Health Care Ltd. Currently a Hurunui District Councillor and a director of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd, Dick maintains a commitment to an Indonesian NGO assisting coffee producers in Toraja.




Viv Smart (appointed by Ngai Tahu)

Viv is an environmental consultant, practising (since 1995) in the North Canterbury-based Ecological Services. Viv has been active in resource management issues relating to landfills,freshwater, ocean outfalls, marine development and aquaculture, among others. He is a past member of the resource committee of Te Ngai Tuahuriri Runanga and was appointed to the Central Plains Water Trust on the recommendation of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu.



Olive Webb

Olive Webb

More information coming soon.